top of page

Flight of the Apprentice - Episode 5: Allies

This series is a bit different than those that I usually post. This was conceived more as a dice-powered short story more so than a full-on Actual Play. Using Starforged as the engine, I began to write a fan-fiction based in the Star Wars universe. I've always loved Star Wars and have spent a considerable part of the last 25 years devouring the written and video content produced by George Lucas and his collaborators—especially the content commonly referred to as Legends today. This entry is an ode to my love for the franchise, and is meant as an homage. It is also a method test for writing stories powered by dice. Thank you for joining me on this adventure.



 

Begin A Session

Booster Terrik stopped short and cocked his head, trying to decipher the origin of the blaster fire. The Old Town Market crowd was dwindling as the cycle wound to a close, and the smuggler was enjoying the relative peace while waiting for the dock authority to authorize his purchase of the Republic ARC-170 snub fighter. He expected it to take a day or so, but his offer was so high he was certain no one would out bid him.


He heard the staccato of an auto-rifle again, and followed it to a warehouse on a back street of the Market. The durasteel docking door had a jagged hole, clearly caused by an explosive. The smuggler drew his blaster, a reliable Naboo heavy blaster he purchased off an arms dealer on Coruscant.


Inside the warehouse, he discovered rows upon rows of deactivated but well serviced B-1 battle droids. He didn't have time to register surprise at this development because two armed and armored Fallen mercenaries entered the room from a door at the far end of the warehouse.


What are the Black Sun doing raiding a droid warehouse? He thought, while ducking behind a storage crate.


"What's the boss want us to do with these?" the first Falleen asked his companion, thumping one of the droids in the chest plate.


"Keep them deactivated for one. He plans to claim them for Black Sun. Can you imagine having this many disposable and repairable soldiers? We will have the Hutts out of Nar Shaddaa in a cycle."


"They are unsettling. Besides, the Jedi made quick work of these things in the war."


"The Jedi are dead or imprisoned as traitors."


Booster frowned at the mention of the Jedi. He didn't buy the official story, knowing the minds of politicians and the rich elite quite well, and the child that dwelled somewhere in his psyche was saddened that the sorceror-swordmasters were no more.


The blaster fire stopped, and the two Falleen paused in their patrol.


"Sounds like the fighting's stopped. Naavi and that traitorous Bek Shade must be dead now."


Bek Shade? Terrik thought. What's that old smuggler gotten himself into this time?


He moved wrong, smacking the barrel of his blaster into the crate. The Falleens' heads whipped around and their blasters came up. Booster Terrik set his blaster to stun and popped out of cover, dropping the two gangsters in their tracks.


 

Advance the Clock

"I suspected you were Force sensitive the first time we met," Naavi said, still pressing the blaster into Beren's neck. "But you're more than just a random Force sensitive aren't you, Bek Shade? If that's even your real name."


Beren's mind raced. Fear clouded his thoughts, and pain left his body feeling weak and powerless.


"How could you know that? Unless you are Force sensitive as well..." Beren's voice trailed off, as realization dawned. "You are, aren't you? But not Jedi. And not Sith either. I sense something...different about your connection to the Force."


"So you do not deny it?"


"What is the point? I already know my mind tricks won't work on you. You proved that on Nal Hutta."


"Clever of you. How long have you suspected me?"


"As a Force sensitive? Not long. But I knew there was something more to you from our first meeting," Beren confessed. "If you're not Jedi, or Sith, what are you?"


"Have you ever heard of the Witches of Dathomir?"


Beren considered his lessons at the Jedi Temple and vaguely recalled something about Force users and Dathomir. "I have heard the name, but I do not know anything about them."


"It is no matter. My people are gone now, destroyed by Dooku."


"But you were a Separatist engineer."


"I was. I defected after the attack on my people."


During their conversation, Naavi was gradually lessening the pressure of her blaster against Beren's neck and, with this new admission, the barrel left his neck completely. The blaster shot past his ear as she trained it on a newcomer.


"Who are you?" she growled in challenge.


"Booster Terrik, I come in peace," the newcomer raised his hands palms out. "You Black Sun?"


"Black Sun are vicious tyrants. I have nothing to do with them."


Booster looked around at the corpses of Black Sun soldiers, and nodded approvingly. "There's two more unconscious inside the warehouse."


"Why should I trust you?"


"Well, for one, I can tell you that this young man is not Bek Shade. Bek Shade is a Twi'lek smuggler captain. I've known him for many years."


"I already knew he was using an alias, you'll have to do better."

Compel

Resource Update

"Lets go inside and discuss this. I'm no threat to you, Naavi. I have no intention of betraying you, and I am committed to your cause," Beren said quietly.


Naavi thought for a moment, then stepped around him and hefted IG-200 up.


"A bit of help here, Jedi?"


Beren climbed to his feet and supported the heavy combat droid's right side. Booster Terrik's jaw had dropped when Naavi addressed Beren as Jedi, and his mouth remained agape as they passed him.


"Come along, Terrik," Naavi called over her shoulder.


Inside, Naavi set to work reactivating IG-200 while Beren and Booster tied the two Black Sun agents to chairs.


"Are you really a Jedi," Booster asked Beren as they worked.


"Apprentice. My master was killed when the clones turned on us."


"The news feeds say the Jedi turned on the Republic. Even attacked the Chancellor in his office."


"I don't know anything about that. My master and I were stationed on Christophsis. We were helping with the rebuilding of the city after the Separatists nearly destroyed it."


"Doesn't sound like the work of traitors to me."


"I didn't betray anyone, but that didn't stop the clones that we served and fought beside from gunning my master down. If not for her quick thinking, I'd have died that day too."


"How did you escape?"


"Stole an ARC-170 and had some help from your friend Bek Shade."


"The ARC-170 is yours?"


"Well, no. It's stolen. But the dock manager is trying to sell it. I plan to take the credits and disappear."


"I'm trying to buy it! I have a client who would pay good money for a Republic war fighter."


"I hope you manage to get it then," Beren smiled up at the larger man. "I want to be rid of it."


"If you two are done chatting, I still have questions," Naavi called out. IG-200 was up and about and the Zabrak was putting away her tools.


"My name is Beren Lathlock. I was a Jedi Apprentice. My master was killed when the clones turned on us," Beren began when they were all seated around a table. "I stole a snub fighter and fled the system. A smuggler who had been helping transport supplies to Christophsis aided me in my flight, but sadly he was killed. I used his name because I was afraid to use my own."


"Understandable, if even half of what I've heard about the Empire's Jedi eradication efforts are true," Naavi said. "I appreciate your honesty. I shall keep your secret, Jedi."


"As will I," Terrik said. "Though hearing of Shade's passing saddens me."


"Now, what are we going to do with these two?" Naavi asked, motioning to the stirring gangsters.


43 views

Recent Posts

See All

Download my Latest TTRPG!

Order of the Falcon Cover Art.jpg

Get my newest TTRPG offering, Order of the Falcon, an Ironsworn supplement inspired by the original Assassin's Creed. You can find it on my itch.io page! 

bottom of page