top of page

Map Spotlight: Beacons of Forwentwaith

Lots going on and changes are happening, getting rolled back, and happening again! Don't you just love the chaos of creativity as it blends with the morass of life? I had originally planned to move all of my content to a new site (WordPress) but due to several issues with the platform, largely related to formatting my posts in a way that was satisfying to my very particular brain, I've opted to forego that swap and remain on my current platform (Wix). The fiction will return, when I've completed a whole story for you good folks to consume. In the mean time, I thought I'd start a new, semi-regular series focusing on my map-making. Here I'll display the map in question and discuss some of what went into creating it. I'll leave a link to my ko-fi where the map can be purchased as well (here).


Inspiration

The Beacons of Forwentwaith ("to refuse to hunt") is inspired heavily by the Beacon Towers of Gondor from the Lord of the Rings, but was originally designed with a high fantasy RUNE hack (that I might be in the early stages of developing!) in mind. The idea to draw the map came while I was guiding my brother through his first time playing RUNE—the tactical combat, solo, souls-like TTRPG by GilaRPGs.



A hill-covered map with various points of interest.
The Beacons of Forwentwaith. ©2023, Eric Dill

Method

Using a combination of my personal custom brushes, and the Fantasy Map brush set by Josh Stolarz of Map Effects, I started laying out the hills (they are big hills, but not quite mountains). Then, when I decided the beacons were actually going to be part of the overall plot of the map, I used the fortress stamp and customized it to fit my needs. The town and the ruins were late additions as was the lake in the hills. In fact, it was the final addition and one I'm rather proud of.


Uses

Eventually I plan to write an adventure around this map, probably focusing on re-lighting the beacon fires and finding the way to access the hidden, ancient fortress to the north. What's in that fortress? What, if anything, guards the beacon towers? Does a lurker swim beneath the placid surface of the lake? What walks among the ruins? Are the townsfolk helpful? Is it abandoned? Is it full of zombies? I don't know, but any and all of those ideas could be great jump points for you to build your own adventure using this map! If you do play it, please let me know! I'd love to hear of your adventures.


 

If you'd like to purchase a copy of the map, you can do so on my ko-fi page.

Disclaimer: Map Effects brushes were used in the creation of this product. The original illustrations of most, but not all, of the contents of this map were made by Josh Stolarz of Map Effects. Map Effects brushes are for use in commercial products so long as they are provided credit for the original illustrations. This disclaimer fulfills this notice.

21 views

Download my Latest TTRPG!

Order of the Falcon Cover Art.jpg

Get my newest TTRPG offering, Order of the Falcon, an Ironsworn supplement inspired by the original Assassin's Creed. You can find it on my itch.io page! 

bottom of page